Do What You Gotta Do

I have grown in the last two weeks. You wouldn’t stumble upon me and be like ‘Wow Natalie, have you grown? Because I can certainly tell’. It isn’t something seen by the naked eye….have you guys ever wondered where that saying came from? Aren’t eyes always naked? Does anyone put clothes on their eyes? I sure don’t. I digress.

Last week I put on my big girl pants and marched into the big boss’s office….okay I didn’t exactly march, it was more like a “pretend you are actually confident” walk, and I told him what was bothering me. I didn’t want to be the person to rat out someone else. However, it was one of those situations where if I didn’t step forward and ask someone with authority for help, I was probably going to be left holding the bag.

I felt instantly better. Not only was I reassured that I did the right thing coming forward, but all the worry and anxiety I was internalizing just vanished. It was a huge relief. And just the simple act of stepping forward gave me confidence. Confidence that I had done the right thing.

I tend to be one of those people who would do anything for you. Which can be awesome 90% of the time. I would literally give you the shirt off of my back….and that is saying a lot because I don’t like being nekid in public. But 10% of the time this kind of mentality means I get taken advantage of. People who are too busy to deal with their work try to shove it off onto me. What’s worse is I am the type of person who does feel instantly responsible for said tasks, even if they are WAY outside my job description.

But last week I stood up for myself and you know what? I am going to do it more often! And I am not just saying that. When the individual who started this whole incident returned from vacation today – yep, they handed it off and then disappeared for a week and a half – and asked how the Big Boss came to be involved, straight up honest Natalie showed up and was like ‘I went to him because you didn’t give me any other choice’. Bam! Don’t play with fire if you don’t want to get burned…….and newly grown Natalie is all on Fi-yahhhh!!!!. Bitch!

8 thoughts on “Do What You Gotta Do

  1. Pingback: TVT | pajamasarecomfy

Leave a Reply

