Wait, How’d I Get Lost?

I sort of have this freakish ability…..no this isn’t something dirty, let’s just get that out of the way (for readers who will remain nameless)…I have an internal GPS. That is what Andy and I call it anyway. I must think in plans and maps because once I have been to a place I can undoubtedly get there again. Even if I was there in the dark and a smidge tipsy, I can still usually find my way.

My internal GPS seems to be a defining trait. I have always known where I was going, I am rarely unsure or apprehensive or….lost. I do not get lost. I decided at 7 years old that I would be an architect and here I am. I decided I would have a successful marriage and start a family, buy a house, yada yada yada. Basically I made it to these points on my life “map”. But now that I am here I am like ‘wait, where do I go from here?’.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that I could only plan my life up until age 29…geesh what a underachiever, am I right?

Andy made an observation the other day, as we were discussing our future dream cars: ‘do you think we are going through a mid-life crisis?’. I stopped and let my brain process as he went on. ‘I mean look at us, we both want these old cars, yours is basically a hot rod, I am not planning on living much past 60….so it does seem like this could be our mid-life crisis, right?’……

Maybe that is what is happening to me. I am feeling the rumble of the bear (Legends of the Fall reference anyone?) inside me. This strong desire to do something more, be something more, squeeze out every ounce of life I possibly can…yep pretty sure this is a mid-life crisis. Anyone know what is keeping my skinny blonde supermodel? she is late….must be doing her makeup.

I am not sure what is going on with me, but to tell you the truth, I would say as long as I am not ripping apart my marriage, foreclosing on my house, or neglecting my child in the process, let’s just ride this “mid-life crisis” wave and see where it takes us. WOoooooo!!!!

7 thoughts on “Wait, How’d I Get Lost?

  1. I had the same thing happen to me at 29 or so. Except I was single so that added an interesting twist…plus, rather than buy a hot rod I was basically going to join the peace corps. But you know, ride that shit out, it will make for good blog posts.

  2. Right there with you! I’m turning 30 in August and I fully believe I’ve got the whole mid-life crisis thing going on. Hope you can hang on and enjoy the ride! 🙂

  3. I was getting married and buying a house and starting my first real job when I turned 30! Big year. Anyways, I think now that I’ve ticked the last box (have all the babies) I’ve had some similar thoughts. What’s next? In my case, senility and death. But in yours, hopefully some enjoyment of your successes.

  4. Pingback: Finding Myself, Giving in to the Midlife Crisis | pajamasarecomfy

Leave a Reply

