We are the funniest people we know.

I don’t mean to brag, but Andy and I are hilarious. Today is my momma’s birthday….I just crunched the numbers to realize she would have been 55. That is a pretty big one. Like in an alternate universe I probably would have been planning a big party or something huh? Strange to sometimes think how life would be different from how it is right now.

Anyway. Normally I like to throw out a pic on the FB to say happy b-day to her, let everyone who loves her get a glimpse of a picture that perhaps they’ve never seen or haven’t seen in a long time, etc. It is definitely not a “whoa is me my mother is dead” FB update. More of a celebration.

E actually asked me if I get sad on her birthday, but I actually don’t. I get sad at weird times, random times. The big days that you would suspect would make me sad, actually tend to make me happy. I love digging through pictures of her and revisiting her life on her birthday. So it isn’t sad, it is really happy and fun.

Anyway, Andy has decided I can be his friend on FB….we’ve gotten to the point in our relationship where he feels like things are on solid enough ground that we can declare ourselves “friends” in the interwebisphere. It is a big step. Today he just so happened to be online when I put the picture up and our back and forth was pretty awesome….it needed to be shared.

Image

Andy: Happy bay patty

Andy: B-day… Damn you auto correct

Natalie: she would have appreciated the auto correct humor πŸ™‚

Andy: A mutual hatred for idiotic technology… We were two peas. Plus she was a great dancer… Coming from me that is something πŸ™‚

Natalie: you were. did you notice that she is wearing smart wools with her dress shoes?…oh mom

Andy: Um … We call it proper footwear… With moisture wicking technology. She was always prepared for a long… Long hike

Natalie: Perhaps she knew that eventually they would run out of wine and she was ready and willing to go to any lengths to make sure the party continued.

Andy: She was one of 2 people who liked me… And Jack just wants graham crackers and a truck ride

Natalie: no offense but Mom probably would have used you for graham crackers and a truck ride too.

Andy: yeah but back then I had a dodge

Natalie: β€Ž….and irresistable blue eyes πŸ™‚

Andy:Β It’s true… Didn’t want to make this about my seductive baby blues… Like Jesus

One of my mom’s cousin’s commented on how my mom passed her big heart on to me….I had to fight the urge to write “you forgot to mention ‘and her smart-ass mouth'”.

Well if my friends and family don’t know how to approach the day from me posting pictures of my mom on her birthday, I think they now have a clue from Andy’s and my back-and-forth smart-assery.

Happy Birthday Beautiful!

8 thoughts on “We are the funniest people we know.

  1. A day to celebrate for sure. Look at what a legacy she left behind…amazing! Happy Birthday!

    And yes, you’re a total smart-ass. One of the many reasons we get along so well.

  2. Happy birthday beautiful indeed! We did know she and I shared the same birthday, but of course, life got in the way and we forgot that fact. We also share the day with Josey’s wedding anniversary! πŸ™‚

  3. I totally know what you mean about getting sad at random times. There are still times when I just want to pick up the phone and call my dad to tell him something funny and then I realize I can’t do that any more. Or days when I have an awesome run, or hear a random song on the radio we both loved. Or when I learn that S loves a certain food that Dad also went ape-shit over! Yeah, the milestone days can be rough, but it’s the random sadness that is the worst…. I get it! HAPPY BIRTHDAY to your Mama!!

  4. Happy birthday, fabulous mama of a fabulous mama. My dead daddy’s birthday is coming up, and it’s true–I tend to get sad at other times. There are plenty of times to get sad, I find.

Leave a Reply

