Older and Wiser

Is it a coincidence that this happens to be my 400th post and also the first one as I enter my third (BU pointed out it is actually my 4th…damn this old age) decade on earth? Probably. Man I am long winded. 400 posts? Really? Have I really had that much to say about life?….I won’t say they are “meaningful things”….as most of them are just thought vomit, but this has really been fun. I appreciate each and every one of you…except the assholes….I haven’t had any run-ins with assholes on my blog, but there have to be some out there and I want to be clear that I do not appreciate their kind…..oh wait….I can totally be an asshole sometimes.

Whelp looks like I don’t like my own kind. Whatcha gonna do? I will be sure to recount the birthday activities at a later date. Needless to say, I may have been turning 30, but gosh darn it, we celebrated like I was turning 15…..well minus the drinks, which is obviously the only notable difference. But the most important difference.

Let me wrap up these Chicago pictures though. Because obviously you guys want to see the other part of Chicago besides the Frank Lloyd Wright buildings. So let us begin with the less nerdy images….but still nerdy all the same.

Have you ever tried to take a picture of your baby while in his/her carrier. It is hard yo. This is the only not-too-blurry-to-make-out-Jack-kind-of picture I could get. Also I should dedicate an entire post to how much I had to modify some of my images to make them not look like a drunk person took them. Taking pictures while your kid is “helping” you hold up your camera and point it is really difficult. I am surprised I have any pictures from this trip.

Here is my travel partner-in-crime, the SIL.

You know how to get Jack to sit through a boat ride? Peanut butter crackers…you know how you get mom to chill out on a boat ride? A Cape Cod. Gotta love boat touring and cocktails.

Unfortunately I can’t find the “remove dew from lens” filter in Photoshop and it was a rainy weekend, so please don’t judge the photography too harshly. I don’t in fact dip my camera into water before I take pictures. Here are the “corn cob” buildings. Otherwise known as Marina City designed by Bertrand Goldberg.

After the boat tour, next stop was Navy Pier and the ferris wheel.

Wheeeee…okay it was moving super slowly, so wheee might be an overstatement.

The end of Navy Pier

Here is what the beginning of day 2 looked like. Yikes. Just wanted to show you what the majority of my pictures looked like.

Misty/foggy view of the river.

Under the “L”

Misty/foggy picture of the Chicago Theater

So I had some fun with photoshop. I can’t help it.

Another Frank, but about 100 years later. Frank Gehry’s Jay Pritzker Pavilion at Millenium Park.

Aqua , the tallest building designed by a female. Her name is Jeanne Gang.

Hope that was a good little taster of my Chicago trip. We did and saw so much more, but rainy weather is bad for cameras.

7 thoughts on “Older and Wiser

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!! Welcome to the third decade. I only have 11 days experience but so far I can’t complain.

    Hope you had a great day!

    Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

