Out of the Tunnel

Whew! I am happy to report I have not cried at work ALL week!!!! In case you are counting that is 4 days in a row! Woohoo! Technically it has been 6 days because once I left the office on Friday it was smooth sailing all weekend.

I came into work on Monday and my boss said ‘I have decided that we will stop teasing Natalie and now just support her’….then later he forgot about that and teased me again. Then Tuesday I almost made him cry when he said ‘do you have that…’ as he was saying it I walked out of the room and came back with the exact thing I knew he was about to ask me for. Ugh this is going to suck, but it will also be okay.

I was feeling a little apprehensive as the week began. I mean a month is a long time from when you get the job offer to when you start. It is hard not to listen to those voices that tell you ‘maybe they found someone else in the meantime and are about to call and tell you ‘you do not have a job” or ‘I bet you’re going to show up on Monday and they are going to be like ‘I’m sorry who are you?”.

Then something awesome happened. I received an e-mail from their marketing director asking me if they could include my resume on a proposal that was going out this week. For those of you not familiar with architecture, that is kind of a big deal. I have been included in only a handful of proposals at the current firm and I have been here for 5 years! So to not even be there yet and them already want me to be on the team that would go interview for the job?….well let’s just say it was the exact thing I needed.

Since that moment, I noticed the other stuff stopped bothering me. I listened yesterday as my current boss taught the “new kids” (i.e. the guys who were recently hired) all about how we go about the planning process. Last week, when I was a blubbery mess, I would have felt a bit envious, a bit jealous that I wasn’t going to be involved in that project. But this week, I was like ‘eh…no big deal. I have done plenty of that and I am ready to move on!’ So I am happy to report that I am totally ready to head out the door in a couple of weeks.

In the meantime stuff is a little crazy. I feel like I have a zillion things to do before I go, plus I have a vacation right in the middle and I might try to sneak a ski day in there if I can swing it.

My very good friend sent me a card that has this quote:

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.

Live the life you’ve imagined.

-Thoreau

I am happy to report that I am almost to the “confidently” part.

2 thoughts on “Out of the Tunnel

Leave a Reply

