Falling In Love

20130521-142820.jpg

I think one of the best parts about my job move has been that I am falling more and more in love with this city. Basically the previous 5 years have consisted of me traveling between small suburb and the southern business district. I was able to make the best of it. Riding the bus and train allowed me to spend time in the downtown core almost everyday, so I got to know those areas. And of course I would visit other areas here and there for various reasons, but I was really just more of an occasional tourist.

Now I am apart of it. I am walking around everyday and discovering new things. Small businesses, yummy local restaurants and amazing buildings – old and new. I also have started a new push in my running. So I spend a couple of days a week running to City Park and each time I take a little variation to my route. I am loving all the discoveries and I feel like I am fulfilled in ways I didn’t realize I was lacking…if that makes sense.

The past two weeks have been packed with preparing for – what I know I shouldn’t consider, but I do anyway – one of the biggest potential projects of my life. The interview was yesterday….I am trying to set myself up to soften the blow if we don’t get it – telling myself ‘it was just a honor to even get that far’….but we all know I am the queen of immodoration. I can’t sequester my own excitement and hopefulness for long. I want this project so bad I can feel it in my bones. I prepared more than I’ve ever prepared, researched…well not more than I have ever researched, because nothing can hold a candle to 2007-2008, but you get the idea. I want it….bad….but I am trying to tell myself that I don’t, just in case.

Life has been pretty good as of late. Toddlerville is a bit of a roller coaster but in general he’s a good little guy. So I can’t complain. Things are going well. Life rocks!

2 thoughts on “Falling In Love

  1. Yay! I’m so happy for you! Just being aware of the little blessings makes such a difference!

    I have a hard time containing my excitement too. I play the same game, try to convince myself it’s not a big deal…and then I squeal and jump up and down like a teenager. GOOD LUCK!! You are awesome either way!!

Leave a Reply

